top of page

Maximize Your Virtual Book Tour Masterclass

The Maximize your Virtual Book Tour Masterclass was born of fellow authors' frustration and disappointment with paid tour sites. I will be honest with you, I have never paid for a virtual book tour. Through my blog, An Angell's Life , I have participated in many! Some were hosted by a company, and some were planned by the author. I had a pretty good idea going into it what to do and I wondered to myself why anyone would pay someone to host a tour for them. It seems so easy. (and once you know what you're doing, it IS.) So from the first book launch, I have done all my own tours. The first ones were a bit rocky, but I have really perfected the art, in my humble opinion!

So, for those of you who don't know, a virtual book tour is a book tour online. Instead of going to different bookstores in different cities, you are going to different book sites, virtually. There are a ton of benefits to doing virtual book tours, but as I listened to my fellow authors' frustrations, I realized what many of their problems were. Let's go through some of them.

1. I Can't Find a Reputable Book Tour Company.

Unfortunately, there is really no way to define "reputable" in this situation. There are varying levels of quality in the book tour companies, and if you are going with the super cheap companies, then you can be guaranteed that the quality of your tour will be lacking. But even expensive book tour companies aren't guaranteed. The best you might get are some impossible-to-verify customer quotes about "how thrilled they were to work with" and "everything was perfect". Highly doubtful. But why pay someone else to do your tour, when you can take control of the fate of your book? I will teach you how in this Masterclass.

2. XYZ Tour Company Isn't Reputable Because I Didn't Get Results

This depends on how you define results. I will be honest with you, if you are paying for a book tour and expecting sales, and you aren't already a well-known author, then you are wasting your money. Book tours do not garner sales. (Ok, well that's not completely true. But we'll get into that more later.) Book tours are about gaining impressions. Market research shows that it takes a minimum of 7-10 impressions before a buyer makes an "impulse buy". In the 90's the fastest and easiest way to make those impressions was through advertising. But in our chaotic world where there is advertising literally everywhere you look, most people don't get an impression of every piece that floats by them. Now it is harder to get that impression. You have to make that impression on a source that they consider 1. relevant. 2. trusted and 3. timely. Hence virtual book tours. (I will go into this more during the Masterclass.)

A virtual book tour's immediate results will be in increasing your SEO (Search Engine Optimization), creating evergreen content, building up your social media platform, and getting you in front of the bloggers' audiences. Unfortunately, most tour companies don't tell you that, and don't provide you with the tools to track those results. But I will.

3. I Don't Have A List of Sites/ Don't Know How to Build a List

Building a list of sites isn't the hard part. It is time-consuming, but it isn't hard. The real struggle comes from keeping that list up-to-date and relevant. DO NOT BUY LISTS. There are quite a few people out there selling lists, and I get where they are coming from, I do. I thought about it myself more than once. The problem is that you have no idea the quality of the list they are selling. Book blogs come and go. Some have thousands of followings and some have 5. Some have higher and more effective ranking on search engine sites and some just suck. Many close within a matter of months. It is a constantly fluctuating field. But as part of the course, I will teach you how to find new sites, how to determine the best sites for your book, and I will get you started with my own lists of 1,000 book bloggers, book vloggers, and sites to promote discounted books. , all of which were active within the last year. You will learn how to maintain your list and continue to build your list.

4. I Tried My Own Tour, But Couldn't Get Bloggers to Respond.

So many authors have this problem. As a blogger, I can tell you why. many, many, MANY authors do not understand how to approach bloggers with their book. And good bloggers get so many requests a day (seriously, it is ridiculous!) that there is no way they can respond to them all. Why waste time on a lousy pitch, when you get a dozen good pitches each day? I will teach you how to provide a solid pitch, how to figure out what bloggers are looking for, and get you a much higher response rate. The last two book launches I did, I planned six week tours and had over 35 stops on my tours. It took me about 3 months working about 20-45 minutes a day. (while working a full-time job) and after the tour started, I only invested about 10 minutes a day to make sure the post went live, and then make sure it was shared around. Do you know what you would spend with a tour company for such a tour? A couple hundred dollars at least (I have seen as high as $900.) Or you can take this course and do it yourself, over and over and over again.

5. I Had A Tour But Don't Know If It Helped

The biggest struggle with marketing is that it is a long-haul game. We all want to measure results in sales, but often marketing takes a certain level of time and proliferation to turn into results. In the mean time do you just keep spending money and time and praying to see things roll in eventually? Well, most authors do... until they get frustrated, overhwelmed, and angry because they aren't seeing results. I know. I was there for three years. But I survived that three years of waiting because I had other ways to measure my success before the money started flowing. I will teach you how to do that in this course. These other skills will also allow you to gauge early on if the work you are doing will eventually lead to sales, or if you need to re-think your plan. Don't wait three years, like I did. Make things happen for you faster!

6. I Had a Tour, But No One Promoted Except Me.

Seriously, there are a lot of bloggers out there who have no idea what they are doing. They won't know how to promote, or even that they need to. Some post a dozen times a day and won't promote. Learning how to pick the right bloggers, and how to provide quick and easy tools for them to promote the tour is key. I will help you create a virtual book tour kit that will provide them everything they need to not only build their post, but to create a cohesive tour promotion package and get more people seeing your content.

So, are you ready to make 2017 your best Virtual Book Tour Year? Email Me to find out when the next Maximize Your Virtual Book Tour Masterclass is being offered.

What questions do you have about the Masterclass?

Let us know in the comments below.

Until Next Time,

Keep Writing!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page